What do you think of your job?

Let VIVID know …

7 comments

  1. Ever the sceptic, I highly doubt that anyone who could answer ‘D’ (Embarrassingly destructive) would do so as they are too unethical and arrogant and they would not be reading VIVID anyway. My ‘job’ as a smallholder, wife and mother is worthwhile and rewarding but my former job, as a management consultant, I would now classify as ‘D’ (my attitude through my career crashing down from ‘worthwhile’ to ‘worthless’).

  2. Anne, thanks for your comment. It seems though that someone already has (answered D)! I suspect there are many people making a living in organisations whose values are not aligned with their own, but who feel too trapped by circumstance to get out.

  3. The questions remind me of the old advertising joke:
    “9 out of 10 cat owners confirmed that their cat prefer Skippy to a red hot poker …..”

    The questions are extreme. Either worthwhile and rewarding or various degrees of soul destroying.

    How about enjoyable but not my dream job or serving its purpose ‘cos my passion and energy is all in X.

  4. Andrew: I would say that’s covered by ‘a passable way of earning a living’ – but it’s a matter of opinion!

  5. Made curious by Anne Gilbert’s comment, I tried a quick and unscientific straw poll of adult returner students on degree courses. All of them are working as well as studying, and seemed (intuitive hypothesis!) likely to be trying to change their lives.

    Results, which suggest that answers depond on respondent group, were:

    A: 1

    B: 3

    C: 8

    D: 11

  6. I love my job. I run a small communications company called Green Ink. The company shares the commitment of its clients, to the eradication of hunger and poverty and the protection of environments in developing countries. It’s based in a farmhouse in the idyllic surroundings of Devon UK but interacts with people all over the world. It doesn’t make me rich, but I have found great fulfillment in trying to meet the challenges it daily presents: keeping my staff and clients happy, contributing to the debate on global development issues, sailing a tight ship through the eye of the current economic storm. Our contributions to the spread of knowledge are modest, and to consequent improvements in lives and livelihoods even more so, but my job hooks me up to something that is bigger than me — and that’s what keeps me sane and happy.

  7. This does indeed sound like a rewarding and satisfying job. I can fully understand why connecting with and contributing to something that’s bigger than you and also a force for good might make you sane and happy! I fear such opportunities are rare though; while it takes a special type of person to identify and create a business like this, if we all decided to do it we’d come a bit unstuck, since the amount of money set aside for good works from the profit-turning machine is so very, very small. Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

